top of page

Banned Books Week


I am all about happy accidents. Those times when something magical happens because the stars are aligned and not because it's a perfect plan. This year, the Banned Books Week theme is Books Unite Us. What!? It's the perfect theme to go along with our Golden Jaguar Book Voyage of building tolerance and understanding through reading. I'm so psyched!


Anyway, I love chatting with students about why people try to suppress stories and ideas. And it gives me a chance to highlight new and classic texts to challenge their reading and thinking. I find it interesting that Harry Potter isn't on this year's Top 10. The theme (if there is such a thing) has shifted from the danger of all things magical to the threat of thinking, discussing, or learning about issues around gender and social justice. I'd say that matches current events.


Check out this year's address from Jason Reynolds, the 2021 Honorary Chair and a slick video highlighting the Top 10 Banned Books of 2020.




In the meantime, what books will you be reading? Who decides what is right for you? Will you push back on the threats of censorship by reading one from the list? I have a few from the top 100 that I'm planning to read this year: I am Jazz, Beyond Magenta, Lush, Fade, Habibi, Dirty Cowboy, My Mom's Having a Baby, It's a Book, My Princess Boy, and The Family Book.


Until next time, happy reading!

Ms. Anderson

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page