top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


What should I read next? It seems like this the question I ask myself aaaalllll the time. The trouble is--there are many more titles than I can possibly read. It's so hard to keep my lists straight!

So, it's about being choosy. And that's perfectly ok. Did you know that sometimes I even abandon books. Yep. I stop reading them. Sometimes it's just while I focus on something else but other times it's a permanent breakup.


What am I reading now? There are some great ones!


I can't stop thinking about this historical documentary on the horrific 1970 events at Kent State. Deborah Wiles recounts (in documentary style) the events of May 4, that went from peaceful protest to the massacre of students by the Ohio National Guard.


It's riveting and engaging and powerful.



Zoe Washington has a great life. She loves hanging out with her friends (even when they get on her nerves) and aspires to be a professional baker. But when she discovers a letter, addressed to her, from her father, her life is forever changed. She has never met or talked to her father before. He's incarcerated for murder. But now. With one simple letter her idea of him transforms and she sets off on a mission. A journey to prove he is innocent of the crime for which he was convicted.


Need a reading holiday? Why not put some picture books in your rotation? They read fast, make an impact, and often teach you something at the same time.


This book won everything! Seriously. Just look at all the medals on the front! And I know, a book titled Crown, won all the book "crowns." Awesome, right?


Anyway, do you love getting a fresh haircut? Wonder why people love visiting the barbershop? Or just want something fun to read? This book is perfection for every reading level.


Learn about the Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, in the beautiful book of poems that tell her biography in the style of her famous hit song, R-E-S-P-E-C-T. Short poems recreate the story of her life from child to legend.


Instant classic--just like her!



Who knows where my reading journey will take me next week. You'll have to check back to find out!


Happy reading!

Ms. Anderson




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page