top of page

Summer Reading


I have so many feelings about this post. I can't believe it is already time to bring the library's year to a close and address my beloved students for the last time. The year(s) have really just zipped by. Anyway, I will save the emotion for a proper, final post and just use this as promised.

Below are the links and the presentation from this week's lesson.


SET GOALS:

I love, love, love setting goals and keeping track of all things reading. I am a fan of the analog method (that's just a pen & notebook) but I also enjoy what digital sites have to offer. Goodreads is my first resource. Here's what I like about Goodreads:

  • Visual bookshelves

  • Set clear reading goal

  • Reviews

  • Reader's Choice Awards

If I have to choose one favorite resource though I would choose The StoryGraph.

Here's what I love about StoryGraph:

  • Visual bookshelves

  • Reading goals with live reading stats

  • Reading challenges

  • Reviews

  • Not owned by Amazon

I don't think you can go wrong with any system. Just choose a way to stay motivated and keep track of what you read.


STATE YOUNG READER BOOK LISTS

I am a huge fan of book lists. I like being able to have some suggestions to get started and I also love being able to cross things off my list.

The Rebecca Caudill book list has been around since 2005. In lieu of the Golden Jaguar I think this list is a solid resource.

The Lincoln YA book list is one of my favorites and has also been around since 2005. The target audience for this list is high school, but there are some amazing titles for middle school students on this list as well.


CHAMPAIGN PUBLIC LIBRARY READING CHALLENGE

The public library is a great place to find all your reading and information needs, but did you know they also give away lots of free stuff? Just for reading!

The Summer Challenge starts on May 13, so sign up soon.


SCHOLASTIC BOOK FAIR

The library will host a spring book fair from May 6 - 10. Students will visit the fair with their reading classes. Be sure to check out the digital flier and sign up for eWallet to make shopping a breeze.


I think that does it. I hope you got some useful information and some resources to keep you in books all summer. Happy reading everyone!

Ms. Anderson









11 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page