top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


This past week's reading felt like a merry-go-round. One book brought me up, another took me down, and then there was one that just left me feeling like I was going in circles.

Here were my highs...and lows:


Huda Fahmy wins with Huda F Are You? This autobiographical account of being Muslim in America is funny, poignant, and relatable. I was chuckling throughout and finished the book in one sitting. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale will be happy to find a new series to rely on.




Something Like Home is a Bulpre winner and exceeded my expectations. This novel is about a young girl named Laura who has to go live with an estranged aunt after she calls 911 when her parents overdose. Laura is wracked with guilt struggles to find security in her new home. I love books in verse and this story perfectly matches the style. This is one of my favorites of the year.



Don Brown wins again. There are so many books that address the Holocaust that it feels like a challenge to find something new to give students. This is the one. Told in graphic novel format this examines the challenges of finding safety during harrowing times when you are just a child. Heartbreaking and valuable.



This wooden cover is one of the most beautiful books I have seen. Instant classic. The unique cover art really contributed to my high hopes for this book--especially since it also won the Newbery. And yet. I felt like it was just...weird. Ultimately, I think my overall appreciation was affected by the fact that my reading was so interrupted (I didn't finish for nearly a month) but I was also underwhelmed the entire time. I didn't love the voice and the story felt unusual. But maybe that's why it's important? The narration has such a different animal voice and perspective than anything I've read before. I'm also left wondering how well it will be embraced by students? I feel remorse just writing this and figure I may just have to set it aside and reread it again another day. Maybe with my grandbaby. Her eyes may just help me see the impossible.



This was the bottom of the proverbial barrel. I liked the art well enough but I found the whole reading experience to be chaotic and distracting. I'll admit that after being swarmed twice I have an aversion to bees, which likely didn't help. I guess I'm left liking the idea of this book better than the actual reading experience. It was for sure the dip on my merry-go-round of reading this week.



I am very excited about what's sitting on my T.B.R. shelf: Mexikid (finally!), Lunar New Year Love Story, & Elf Dog and Owl Head to name a few.


Happy reading y'all!

Ms. Anderson



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page