top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


I love springtime. I love the smell of the world as it unthaws from winter's deep freeze. I love watching for plants as they push up out of the earth and the anticipation that builds because I know the flowers are coming next. My energy feels renewed. And I'm more motivated. Maybe it's the warmer weather or the longer days? Either way, it feels me with joy. But I'm guessing what you are wondering is what have I read since my last post?


Two outstanding graphic non-fiction titles. Family Style was an ALA Award winner this year. This memoir is Thien Pham's account of growing up as a Vietnamese refugee in the US. It's poignant and at times heartbreaking but so hopeful.

83 Days in Mariupol is far from hopeful. It's a brutal account of the Russian attack on Ukraine. Don Brown uses black and white images to give life to this modern atrocity as it unfolds. This is a difficult read. Because this tragedy is ongoing there is no resolution. The future of Ukraine and the Ukrainian people is bleak and unknown.


Ultimately, I'm enjoying a bit of a fiction holiday and am reminded that I love learning something new! I hope you find your perfect read too.


Happy reading,

Ms. Anderson


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page