top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


This is me trying to stay calm and focused as we approach the holidays! One of the ways that I do this is (of course) by reading. Last week I was in a bit of a reading slump and my favorite thing about that beginning to be motivated to read again. Here's what is keeping me busy...



Red, White, and Whole is a book in verse that I've been reading about for months and waiting (impatiently) for the title to arrive at the library. Happily, I ended up getting the audio version first and it met expectations. The book is short but packs a heartfelt punch as Reha copes with her mother's leukemia. Lots of speculation in the blogverse about whether this will be a Newbery contender.


Shouting in the Rain was actually on my TBR list a long while back but sort of drifted off my radar until I saw it available in my audio cue. I'm happily listening to the story of Delsie and how she copes with an absent mother, the loss of her father, and an friendship that's slipping from bestie to worstie (is that even a thing?). I have a fondiness for the East Coast so I'm happy imagining Cape Cod and the rocky Atlantic Coast as I listen. Perfectly perfect.




Don Brown really is a genius at his craft--specifically graphic non-fiction. He is a brilliant story teller of disasters. This time he turns his attention to September 11, 2001. Brown captures the moments the fire fighters witness the first plane crash into the North Tower until the final ceremony after the last load of debris was removed. It is important and powerful.




Home is Not a Country is one that I've just started (when I'm not reading White Smoke) and I love it so much. This is a National Book Award shortlist title and deserving of all the accolades. The book in verse is lyrical and haunting and captures the mystery of lives no lived. Who are we and how are we made by generations of decisions? I may just have to reread this one.





Nothings better than a chilly day, a mug of my favorite hot drink, and a book.

Happy reading ya'll!

Ms. Anderson





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page