top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


Can you believe it! The last week of library checkout for 2021-2022. This is always a bittersweet time for me. I hate saying farewell to 8th graders but I'm always very energized by the thought of starting a new year. So much to think about!


In the meantime, I'm still reading (of course).



I missed posting last week (it was just a crazy blur) but here are the titles that kept me busy:








The titles couldn't be more different (cold war non-fiction, drug addiction, and identity graphic novel) but maybe that is what kept me so engaged? Anyway, I strongly recommend all three.


This week I'm tackling:


I picked this up during 7th grade silent reading and haven't been able to put it down since. It's an adorable book about identity, being the only minority in a town/school, and conforming to societal expectations. So far I love it.





This is an award winner that has been on my radar for quite some time but I haven't been able to read it because it was always check out. And we have two copies! I figure it has to be good. Now I'm a quarter of the way in and am delighted by the historical ghost story. I know students are going to love Ophie and the creepy thought of being able to see and interact with spirits.



I had no idea what I was getting into when I started this book (audiobook actually), but I'm enjoying the journey so far. The book is about a young girl growing up poor and struggling to be seen, heard, and treated fairly. It also incorporates lots of facts about a subject she is obsessed with--the octopus. It reminds me a bit of The Thing About Jellyfish. I love being able to read a great story but learn a little something at the same time. It's a win-win.


Well, I feel like I'm about to settle in to summer reading time. Who knows how much I'll get accomplished. What I know is that it will be great fun and filled (hopefully) with lots of great books.


Happy reading!

Ms. Anderson

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page