top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


I feel like it's been so, so long the last time I was able to sit, reflect, and write about what I'm reading. In fact, it was last month! I'll also admit that while life has been exceedingly busy in and out of the library, I also haven't had loads of extra time to sit and read. But I think this will change a bit in November because we have some built in holidays and the weather will be cooler which means--time to be inside instead of out.


I'm only talking about two titles this week--one I finished and one I'm currently working on as an audio book. First, Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed. Oh. My. Goodness. Ms. Siwecki recommended this to me shortly after I purchased two copies for the library (I must have been having a premonition) and so it zipped right to the top of my list. In fact, I think I started it that day. From the first page I felt like I was driven to read it as fast as I could. I loved the main character, Safiya, immediately. She's got spunk, she's smart, and she's funny. Perfect, right? And the story is crafted in a style that reads quickly, shifting perspectives, lists, evidence, and articles. I was so invested in the characters and the mystery that could hardly wait to finish. And oh was a finish it was! It was outstanding and I've added it to one of my list of favorites. If you liked A Good Girl's Guide to Murder or Monday's Not Coming than Hollow Fires will be a new gem. Just so well done!


The Project is by one of my favorite YA authors, Courtney Summers. I'm listening to this one and it's another mystery (hooray!). I love mysteries so much that they hardly feel like work. It's just pleasure reading even when I'm reading for school. And this one is unique. It is about a young girl that loses touch with her sister who may or may not be part of a cult. I am drawn into the story and like the characters so far, but I'm not sure whether to trust the narrator yet. I'm wondering if her memories are clouded because she was in an accident? It's so fun to see the truths unfold in a well crafted story!


Happy reading everyone!

Ms. Anderson

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page