top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


Happy Friday!


After a bit of a rough start to my reading habits at the start of the school year, I have finally put together a string of productive days. Here's one secret: sometimes a reading slump stems from feeling like I "have" to read a book (or books) that I'm just not that into. I did some honest reflection and decided to put aside both Belladonna and Courage to Dream. I truly didn't dislike either book, but my engagement has been affected by too many starts and stops. So I'm put them back in my to be read pile and started from scratch. And that was all I needed!


Rema is by Amy Kibuishi. She is married to the wildly popular Kazu Kibuishi, author of the Amulet series. I had high hopes from her proximity to a great storyteller. My verdict? It does not disappoint. The story is fresh, the art is crisp, and the end of what I imagine is the first installment left me wanting more. The perfect antidote for my reading apathy!


As you may have seen, The Best Lies is highlighted on the "I Can't Wait to Read This..." section of this blog, so I was delighted when this showed up available in my Libby. I am intrigued by the narrator who I suspect is unreliable. I feel like Remy is a liar (thus the title) but then I also wonder if the real problem is more her friend? As always, I can't wait to see the truth unfold.



The One and Only Ivan, The One and Only Bob, and now The One and Only Ruby. I have a soft spot for elephants so this may end up being my favorite of the whole series. Katherine Applegate is a wizard at capturing the voice of these three characters. My favorite part is revisiting these old friends and getting to know each backstory. I also love how she embeds facts about elephants all throughout the story. It's simply perfect, like Ruby.

This book is adorable. The art feels a bit manga-y (maybe it's the eyes?). I love that Planchette is a kitchen witch who bungles a bit and then befriends, Pinyon, an even more awkward witch. Together they attempt to rid Planchette's new home of a ghost. Quirky. Silly. Delightful.




And that's it. It's Friday and I'm ready for the weekend.

Happy reading everyone!

Ms. Anderson

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page