top of page

Ms. Anderson's ATM


Okay, so I'm obsessed. Seriously. Obsessed.

And I haven't been this smitten with a book series in years. Years!


I'm sure you're wiggling in your seat in anticipation. Which one? Which one? It's The Lady Jane series by Cynthia Hand. I am calling the series non-historical comic adventure. The best part...although it's a series, the books are only connected in style--not content. Cue the happy music! I adore the fact that that each book can stand alone and I don't have to commit to the next book--unless I want to. And so far...I want to!


Here they are. And can also add that I dig the covers? This makes my heart so, so happy. I am already on Calamity Jane! This is some sort of series record for me. For real.


After I finish Calamity then I get to tackle the Mary books.


And guess what!? I JUST FOUND OUT IT'S BEING TURNED INTO A SERIES!

That is worth shouting.

I. Am. So. Excited!!! .



Here's what I love:

  • The stories are so, so funny. I literally laugh out loud (often while listening, so is that LOLWL?).

  • Each book has a different set of characters that are familiar (historical or literary) and mashed together in new ways. For example: In Plain Jane, the main characters are Jane Eyre (from the novel) and Charlotte Bronte (the author of Jane Eyre). They are best friends that are looking for love in the 19th century and also occasionally hunting ghosts.

  • Each book can stand alone (though why would you stop at one!?).

Here's hoping you find your new bibliojoy soon!

Happy reading,

Ms. Anderson




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page