top of page

Ms. Anderson's Last 2023 ATM


It's nearly time to say farewell to yet another calendar year (and half of the school year)! I can hardly believe it. I know there are big things on the horizon for 2024, but I don't want to miss a chance to reflect, at least for a moment, on the books I am reading right now.


First and foremost, I finally finished Simon, Sort of Says. I think this must be the record for the longest it's taken me to complete a middle school novel. But I will say it was totally worth the persistance. The writing was just so funny and vivid and memorable. I appreciate how the author, Erin Bow, managed the issue of school violence with such loving care. I would not be surprised to hear this title called during award season.


So, I'm not a superfan of the art but this story was charming. I love the Boggie Down title reference to 80s Hip-Hop in the Bronx. There's so much to identify with as Steph graples with friends and frienemies, manages a helicopter mom, and tries to figure out where to go to high school. Readers who love Drama by Raina Telgemeier will be in their happy place reading this comic.


Gosh. This book is a triumph. Kin is the author's intimate look at her family tree and imagines how their lives entwines with our country's bitter history of enslavement. This book in verse carries the reader back to the first mention of her family in 1781 on the rosters of Maryland's Wye House. The only thing better than the haunting writing are the stunning scratchboard images that accompany the text throughout. I fully expect this to be an award season contender.


Jacqueline Woodson is at it again. She is such an important voice in YA literature. This time Woodson draws from her own life experience growing up in a NYC neighborhood plagued by house fires and referred to as "The Matchbox." Remember Us tells the story of Sage, a young brown girl grappling with the loss of her father, figuring our her own identity, and trying to stay safe when the world she knows seems to be burning down around her. This may not ganrer Woodson another set of awards, but may be one of my personal favorites.


It has been a while since I've really fallen in love with a character, but Huda snagged my heart from the very first panel (she's pictured dumping all of her freshman papers in the trashcan with relatable glee). This is the second Huda book, but I'm hoping not the last (maybe she will out pace Wimpy Kid's #18?). This time Huda and her family are headed to Disney where they will make some great memories, encounter some rotten biggotry, and grow together as a family. I can't wait to read whatever Huda has for us next. Huda F Cares? I sure do!!!


And that's it for the 2023 school year. I am always excited about the books I'll read over break and can only hope the reading season ends with some outstanding storytelling.


Until 2024 everyone! As always, happy reading.


Ms. Anderson




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page