top of page

The Weather Outside is Frightful!


Last Thursday is was nearly 80 degrees but tomorrow the windchills will be down to 5! Brrrrr. The upside? It is the perfect weather to curl up with a blanket (or a Comfy) and read. Here are some lists that can keep you inspired to read your way right through the frigid temperatures and long nights.


Near the end of each calendar year a number of companies, celebrities, and readers publish their favorite books of the year.


I am always excited to mine these lists in order to:

1) discover something new

2) spot titles that show up on multiple lists

The titles that show up over and over always make it to the top of my TBR (to be read) pile.

Bookmark these and then start making your list. Feel free to send me an email if you find any interesting titles that we need to add to the library!

  • Good Reads Choice Awards is a way to cast your vote on the list of favorites from the previous year. It's fun to see which titles end up nominated and watch to see the list shrink round after round. Like PW, I always return to the nominee lists (middle, YA, and YA fantasy) for reading ideas.

  • Publisher's Weekly YA and Middle Grade lists are always loaded with gems. I actually recheck this periodically throughout the year if I have run low on reading ideas.

  • Book stores are in the mix with their own tip lists. Check out Barnes & Noble and Amazon. No worries--the lists are free even if you aren't shopping. :-)

  • School Library Journal has great lists for middle level and YA readers. And it's created by librarians, so it will be the first list I check.

  • The New York Times Bestsellers list is a way to keep up with which books newly popular and which ones are staying popular. They have a list of middle level and YA that are fun to monitor.


Here are the titles I can't wait to read!


Top 2 because they are on so many lists:

  • Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

  • Freestyle


Yikes! The rest of my list grew so fast!

  • This Woven Kingdom

  • Attack of the Black Rectangles

  • Serwa Boateng's Guide to Vampire Hunting

  • Elephant Girls

  • Gallant

  • Thirst

  • The Marvellers

  • I Must Betray You (this has been on my list for a but so I have to get it started).

  • Odder

  • Victory, Stand!

  • Hotel Magnifique

  • The Cursed Carnival and Other Calamities (I don't know why I'm a sucker for carnival stories! Carnivals are great and terrifying to me.)


These 2 are YA and won't end up on the library but I'm still excited to read them!

  • The Weight of Blood

  • All My Rage


Happy list making!

Ms. Anderson

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page