top of page

Welcome Back!


We're back!! I am struggling a bit to figure out where the summer went, but I think if you read back over all of my welcome back posts that I say the same thing every year.

That said, I'm really excited to get students in the library and books into their hands. This year my summer reading goal was 20 books. I typically get through around 30 but only completed 22 this summer. Sigh. So, technically I met my goal, but the lower productivity will leave me a bit behind on my 2023 overall goal. Ugh. I'm trying to give myself some grace and not stress too much!


On the positive side, one thing that I'm excited about is that I read so many mysteries (my favorite). I usually don't admit that I have a favorite genre but mysteries have been my wheelhouse since I was a tiny person. Think Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden. Now, if I had to choose a favorite from the five I read this summer it would be The Agathas. I mean really. What's not to like about two girls inspired to solve a local mystery by none other than Agatha Christie herself? In fact, I liked the book so much I will probably read the sequel, The Night in Question (even though I typically skip the series).








If I had to choose an overall favorite from my summer reading it would be Sunshine by Jarrett Krosoczka. I have been an uber fan of Krosoczka since Hey, Kiddo. I love his honesty and humor. Sunshine is another autobiographical graphic novel about time he spent as a teen volunteering at a summer camp for ill children and their families. It is the book I didn't know we need to much in our collection. I loved everything about the novel (story, illustrations, humor, and heartbreak) and cannot wait to get it into the hands of everyone!


I am so excited to see what reading adventures lay ahead. Here's to reading only good books in the 2023 school year!


Happy reading!

Ms. Anderson











4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page